God's Necessity

Discuss either theological doctrines, ideas about God, or Biblical criticism. I don't want any debates about creation vs evolution.

Moderator:Metacrock

Forum rules
(1) be interesting (2) be nice.
Metacrock
Re: God's Necessity (Meta's response) part 1

Post by Metacrock » Fri May 06, 2011 1:46 pm

Speusippus wrote:Hello Metacrock, this is "anonymous" from your blog.

I used to be known as Dag Hammarskjold on CARM. (I no longer post there, though I do have an account under the name "Speusippus" over there as well.)
I remember you. I remember that you were a friend, you were someone I liked, My memory of specifics, when I knew you and what you said, very hazy. I did remember the name.
I am a Philosopher (as in, by profession*) and a Christian. But being a philosopher, I tend to focus more on arguments than on conclusions, so even though I do believe in God, I will typically argue against the soundness of any arguments for the existence of God that I see. (Similarly, if I'm participating in a conversation with Atheists and they are arguing against God's existence, I will typically try to argue against that as well--though I have to admit I find my own disposition to be more "prophetic" than "evangelical," by which I mean, I'm more likely to think it worthwhile and rewarding for all concerned to correct Christians when I think they're arguing badly than to correct Atheists when they are arguing badly. This is not to say I take that as a general rule everyone should follow--it's just the disposition I find myself saddled with.